Life. Changing. Times

Life.Changing.Times Theatre Awards

Following a successful run of Mamma Mia! last month, Indian Hills Community College Performing Arts students recently received awards at the annual Cake on an Empty Stage Ceremony held in St. John Auditorium.  The event takes place every spring and celebrates the accomplishments of Indian Hills students who participated in theatrical productions during the 2018-19 academic year.  The performances honored included Clue on Stage in December 2018 and Mamma Mia! in April 2019.

Bryan Brain (Hedrick) was honored with a special award for Best Achievement in Performing Arts 2016-2019.  This award recognizes Indian Hills students who have participated in all aspects of the performing arts at IHCC. Brain played percussion and bass in the Indian Hills Jazz Band for three years, sang in the Concert Choir, Chamber Singers, and Men’s Choir, was scene shop manager and on the technical crews for Peter and The Starcatcher, Legally Blonde, the Musical, Clue on Stage, Taming of the Shew, and The Man Who Came to Dinner, and played Sam in Mamma Mia!  Brain also participated in the 2019 Poetry Reading by sharing a screen play he is writing.

Taith May (Albia) and Peyton Nelson (Ottumwa) were presented with special awards for Best Leadership in Indian Hills Theatre 2019.  Nelson was the Stage Manager for Clue on Stage and May was Dance Captain for Mamma Mia!

Receiving the award for Best Performance in Clue on Stage was Bianca Cardona (Keota) who performed Mrs. Peacock.   Receiving an award for Best Performance in Mamma Mia! was Hannah Haring (Cambria) who performed Sophie. 

Technical theater work was also honored.  Best Technical Support went to McKenzie Hammes (What Cheer) for sound in Clue on Stage and to Carrie Combites (Blandinsville, Illinois) for costumes in Mamma Mia! 

Thirty-three Indian Hills students received Star Performer medals for their performance in or technical support of Clue on Stage and Mamma Mia.  Those honored (listed by hometown) were:

AGENCY: Elijah Muntz

ALBIA: Taith May, Katrina Sample

BLOOMFIELD: Shannon Garrels, Savannah Summers

CAMBRIA: Hannah Haring

CEDAR RAPIDS: Gracyn Chicchelly

DANVILLE: Ashley Gorrell

ELDON: Nimfa Stanton

FAIRFIELD: Mich Putnam

HEDRICK: Seth Bethune, Bryan Brain, Kira Smith, Becca Tosh

KEOTA: Bianca Cardona

MILO: Kelli Chapman

OSKALOOSA: Ramsey Smith

OTTUMWA: Erlinda Aldaba, Pablo Alvarado, Lily Arney, Savannah Ford, Geovanny Marrero Correa, Peyton Nelson, Luis Valverde


PLEASANTVILLE: Chance Bender, Joseph Culp

SIGOURNEY: Khloe Snakenberg

WAPELLO: Jorge Saavedra

WHAT CHEER: McKenzie Hammes


HARVEY, ILLINOIS: Demitirius Mitchell



Indian Hills performing arts award winners (L-R):  Bianca Cardona (Keota), McKenzie Hammes (What Cheer), Peyton Nelson (Ottumwa), Bryan Brain (Hedrick), Hannah Haring (Cambria), Carrie Combites ((Blandinsville, IL),  and Taith May (Albia).